Become a Member

Join the Society

Members receive a discount on events.

Become a Member
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Brownstone performed by Metropolis Ensemble

January 26, 2015 @ 8:00 pm - 10:00 pm

| $30.00

Join Metropolis Ensemble and Artistic Director / Conductor Andrew Cyr for a 360-degree concert ‘installation’, also featuring the World Premiere of a new electro-acoustic work for soprano Adriadne Greif and chamber orchestra by composer Ricardo Romaneiro with words by Christopher Cahill.

“Brownstone” will be a site-specific music event featuring three electro-acoustic works in surround sound. Each work involves musicians and electronic elements placed throughout the architecture of a gloriously restored, turn-of-the-century mansion facing the Metropolitan Museum, allowing audience members to walk, listen, look, and explore freely, choosing their own musical experience.

Space is limited; reserve your tickets today!

Tickets $30
$20 Metropolis Ensemble Members/ $15 Students*

$20 AIHS Members (with discount code METROSOCIETY)

Ticket prices include wine reception, served throughout the performance.
*for students please use .edu email address – limited tickets*


On the Program

Jakub Ciupinski: Brownstone (2010) : Soloists, duos, trios, and electronics will be scattered throughout all floors while audience members roam from room to room, — each its own world yet part of a single narrative musical work. An electronic soundscape will fill halls and stairways, creating a rhythmic and colorful sonic canvas. For 10 musicians and electronics*.

Chris Cerrone: Memory Palace (2012) : The title refers to an ancient technique of memorization that helped orators remember very long speeches by placing mental signposts in an imaginary location and ‘walking’ through it. Here, composer Chris Cerrone tasks solo percussionist (Ian Rosenbaum) to construct each room’s ‘instrument’ based a simple set of instructions. Electronic sounds are triggered and sampled live in this journey of rhythm and memory.

Ricardo Romaneiro: Coarse Air (2015 World Premiere) : A new work written for soprano Ariadne Greif with ensemble, solo percussion (Ian Rosenbaum), and electronics in quadrophonic sound, based on the text from poet Christopher Cahill. The Coarse Air builds on the instrumentations found in Brownstone and Memory Palace to create a dramatic culminating experience.

These three works are unified by each composer’s exploration of idiosyncratic methods of electro-acoustic composition coupled with experiments in audience perspective, control, lighting, and acoustic-architectural space. There will be no gaps between pieces in this one-of-a-kind experience.


Artist Roster:

Solo Voice: Ariadne Greif
Solo Percussion: Ian Rosenbaum

Metropolis Ensemble Artists

Kristin Lee, violin
Karen Kim, violin
Emily Smith, violin
Yves Dharamraj, cello

Jacqui Kerrod, harp
Melanie Genin, harp

Lance Suzuki, flute
Michelle Farah, oboe
Brad Balliett, bassoon

Britton Matthews, percussion
Sean Statser, percussion

Andrew Cyr, conductor

Composers: Jakub Ciupinski, Chris Cerrone, and Ricardo Romaneiro

Poetry: Chris Cahill

Sound Engineer: Leo Leite

Lights: John Houle


January 26, 2015
8:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Event Categories:


American Irish Historical Society
991 5th Ave, New York, NY 10028 United States
+ Google Map

The American Irish Historical Society
The American Irish Historical Society is a cultural institution featuring a library and archive, public arts programming, and events space.
991 Fifth Avenue
New York
United States

Sign up for our newsletter.

Join our mailing list
* = required field